Deep and Heartrending,wonderful in every respect.

51j5p18mJNL__AC_US218_Delia Owens has crafted a novel with incredible details and a protagonist who will capture your heart.

When  six year old Kya is abandoned first by her mother and then her father, she is left to fend for herself in a hobbled together shack built by long deceased relatives.  Taught to be aware of strangers and the civilized world beyond the Marshlands and the coast of North Carolina, Kya grows up isolated from human contact. Her friends are the denizens of the Marsh and ocean. Gulls, fireflies and every sort of animal and insect become known to her. Kya learns to fish, steer a flat bottom boat, take care of the engine and dig for mussels which she sells to a kind old colored man named Jumpin’ who runs the wharf.

Kya comes to be known as The Marsh Girl. She is gossiped about and humiliated by the towns folk.

Her one friend is a young boy named, Tate. He is as attracted to the Marsh and ocean has he is to Kya. Eventually, he teaches Kya to read. He gives her science books and poetry. But time passes and Tate must leave her to go to college. Kya feels abandoned again, and her love for Tate breaks her heart. Several years pass, Kya is now a young woman and is preyed upon by the neighboring town’s football star and playboy, Chase. He lures Kya, who is desperate for human contact, into a sexual relationship with promises of marriage. But Kya learns he has married someone else. She breaks off all contact, but he refuses to let her go. One day he attempts to rape her. Beaten and bloodied, she fights back and runs.

Yet, Kya knows he will not stop, that he will keep coming after her. She knows she can’t live in fear waiting for his next attack.

Months later, Chase is found dead from a sixty foot fall from a fire tower within the Marsh. There are no prints or anything to actually connect Kya. In fact, she has an alibi confirmed by numerous people. Still, Kya is accused and arrested. The trial is portrayed in great detail. (No spoilers here!)

This is a wonder of a novel, crafted beautifully. I loved, loved this novel and highly recommend it for New Adults and Adults.

 

 

 

New Releases 1/8

Book People has compiled a varied look at a number of books, many for YA but also for adults. Brief, but insightful book reviews.

BookPeople

The Winter of the Witch: A Novel (Winternight Trilogy #3) Cover ImageThe Winter of the Witch

By Katherine Arden:

Following their adventures in The Bear and the Nightingale and The Girl in the Tower, Vasya and Morozko return in this stunning conclusion to the powerful bestselling Winternight Trilogy, battling enemies mortal and magical to save both Russias, the seen and the unseen. Moscow has been struck by disaster. Its people are searching for answers—and someone to blame. Ellen says “One of the things I think sets this trilogy apart from other fantasy series, is that each book has its own identity. I didn’t feel like I was reading the same book three times. The three books definitely go together, but enough changes in the plot, characters, and tone from book to book keep them interesting and distinct. Recommend highly for fans of Laini Taylor, Naomi Novik, Rachel Hartman, and maybe even Game of Thrones.” Don’t miss Katherine Arden at BookPeople

View original post 3,122 more words

Enthralling and Heartrending

51xdj7pegfl__sy346_  Book Review of Washington Black, Five Stars

Stepping into this novel is like stepping into the life of a young negro slave in 1830’s Barbados. Faith sugar cane Plantation is ruled by Erasmus, a hard, evil master. But the young slave, Washington known as Wash, has an unknown talent discovered by the brother of Erasmus, Christopher known as Titch. Christopher, who is as kind as his brother is harsh, takes young Wash under his wing to help him construct a contraption known as a Cloud-Cutter, similar to a hot air balloon. Titch and Wash embark on a series of death defying adventures, but mostly, they are dangerous for Wash who upon his escape from the island with Titch is sought dead or alive by Erasmus. Over the course of years as Wash becomes an adult, we readers embark on a voyage filled with pathos, joy and heartbreak. This is a beautifully crafted novel. I highly recommend it for those who love history and dynamic storytelling.

Got Books to Sell? Try These 22 Book Marketing Tips – by Frances Caballo…

These are excellent tips for writers!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

on Social Media Just For Writers:

How many book marketing tips have you tried?

Probably every single one that you’ve read about, right?

What makes book marketing so tough isn’t that you run out of ideas to market your books. It’s that you have so many different plans.

Well, if you want to make it as a writer, get ready for the marathon of writing and marketing. You’ll always be doing both from now on.

To make life easier for you (or harder?), I’ve assembled a checklist of my top book marketing tips for you.

Continue reading HERE

View original post

An Interview with Judy Rumsey Bullard, Book Cover Designer!

Judy had done several book covers for me and they are exactly what I envisioned. She is great to work with. Thanks, Judy.

K. D. Dowdall

An Interview with Judy Rumsey Bullard, Book Cover Designer!

I am interviewing today a very talented Book Cover Designer, Judy Rumsey Bullard, customebookcovers@cox.net. She has designed all of my book covers and I love each and everyone of them. Don’t miss 6 of her great designs at the end of this interview! It is my pleasure to introduce to you, Judy Rumsey Bullard, a book cover designer extraordinaire!

Judy, please tell us where you are from originally and a little about yourself.

I was born in Oregon but only lived there for my first two years.  My parents then moved to California where I’ve lived for most of my life.  My husband and I were married while he was in the Navy on the aircraft carrier, the USS Enterprise.  I was a stay at home Mom while raising our two sons who are now married.  For most of our…

View original post 727 more words

Libraries and Bookstores of the Lehigh Valley, PA: Linderman Library at Lehigh University

Looking forward to this series…

charles french words reading and writing

ARCH2O-23-University-Libraries-that-Bookworms-Would-Never-Leave-19

I mentioned a little over a week ago that I was beginning a new series on libraries and bookstores of the Lehigh Valley in Pennsylvania, and I am finally making the first entry in that series. My beginning piece will feature the beautiful Linderman Library of Lehigh University in Bethlehem, PA.

IMG_7524

Linderman Library is the humanities library, and it is my favorite place on campus. I earned my M.A. and Ph.D. in English Literature at Lehigh University, and this extraordinary abode of books is a comforting and inspiring place to work. I have spent many hours doing research and writing in this safe haven for book people.

readingroomc70faa881f97955c5eb14eb1e8074252--lehigh-university-brown-university

Linderman Library has many places to work, including a long reading room, which feels like something out of Hogwarts from the Harry Potter books, many nooks with desks, and one of the best features of the library–the rotunda. Several levels of books fill…

View original post 142 more words